fbpx

NEW MEXICO VEHICLE TITLING SERVICES

One Quick Trip!

New Mexico Titles

If you purchased a new vehicle or taking ownership of a vehicle, the title must be put in your name. We can help you with this entire process quickly! Call 505-341-2683 or schedule an appointment at one of our 7 MVD Now locations today

    Vehicles that must have a Certificate of Title in New Mexico are:

    • Cars
    • Trucks/SUV’s
    • RV’s and motor homes
    • Boats
    • Buses
    • Manufactured or mobile homes
    • ATV’s, dune buggies, snowmobiles, etc.
    • Motorcycles
    • Trailers

    In most cases, a vehicle is titled and registered at the same time. Go to Vehicle Registration to know exactly what to bring to title and register your vehicle to legally drive it. If you want to only get a Certificate of Title, we are able to issue a title without registering the vehicle or issuing a license plate, under a limited number of conditions, as outlined below.

    New Mexico Titles For Vehicles That Do Not Operate

    This is usually a vehicle that is purchased for reconstruction or rebuilding, mechanically or otherwise, and which the buyer does not intend to operate for an extended period of time. You must pay the title fee and the excise tax on the vehicle, but no plate will be issued. Once the vehicle is operable, you can come back to MVD Now to register the vehicle.

    Here are the documents you’ll need to bring when you visit us at MVD Now to title a non-operating vehicle(s):

    • One (1) valid Driver’s License or ID for EACH person that will be on the title
    • Two (2) Proofs of New Mexico Residency if the Driver’s License or ID of the primary owner is not from New Mexico| View list of acceptable NM Residency documents
    • One (1) Vehicle Title – we recommend that you bring the Title untouched, and fill out a Bill of Sale instead.
    • One (1) Bill of Sale– Completely filled out by purchaser and seller | Print and Fill Out: MVD Form 10009 | Download Form

    New Mexico Titles For Vehicles That Are Not Insured

    If you have purchased a vehicle that you cannot insure, you have the option to only request a Certificate of Title on the vehicle. You must pay the title fee and the excise tax on the vehicle, but no license plate will be issued. Once you get insurance on the vehicle, you can register the vehicle.

    Here are the documents you’ll need to bring when you visit us at MVD Now to title an uninsured vehicle(s):

    • One (1) valid Driver’s License or ID for EACH person that will be on the title
    • Two (2) Proofs of New Mexico Residency if the Driver’s License or ID of the primary owner is not from New Mexico| View list of acceptable NM Residency documents
    • One (1) Vehicle Title – we recommend that you bring the Title untouched, and fill out a Bill of Sale instead.
    • One (1) Bill of Sale– Completely filled out by purchaser and seller | Print and Fill Out: MVD Form 10009 | Download Form

    Avoid Receiving A Tax Penalty from The State of New Mexico for Late Titling!

    A penalty of 50% of the Motor Vehicle Excise Tax is enforced on any person who lives in New Mexico and either:

    • Accepts transfer of a vehicle in New Mexico but fails to apply for a certificate of title within 90 days.
    • Accepts transfer outside the state and fails to apply for a certificate of title within 90 days of bringing the vehicle into New Mexico.

    Don’t let time go by!

    New Mexico’s Vehicle Titling Service

    We can help you title your vehicle as soon as possible! You can schedule an appointment at one of our 7 locations in Albuquerque or Bernalillo or call 505-341-2MVD. Our DMV specialists are ready to help!